Simon the Sorceror Review – The old ones really are the best!

Nostalgia can be a funny thing sometimes. You go back and realize its nowhere near as good as you remember. Other things age gracefully and whilst clearly products of their time they still shine. Simon the Sorcerer however is like a fine vintage wine and has grown more flavorsome and rich since it was first bottled.

Like a fine wine which improves with age due to the complex nature of the chemicals, sugars and acids altering to improve the wines taste, Simon the Sorcerer’s various components all offer something more palatable as I now play the game as a 24 year old as opposed to being only 10/11 when I first played it.

I think the game is beautiful period. It has a style distinct to so many SCUMM games but its the original art direction of the games wierd and wonderful cast that helps to bring things to life plus each has their quirky animation that makes you laugh. There are a couple of moments that aren’t doing anything stunning graphically but the pure emotions they invoke help to lift what would otherwise be a normal moment. One such moment is when walking through the forest you stumble across a fox who comes running out of the trees spies you and then scampers back into the woods. Another is the sight of a deer at the top of a distant mountain. These moments wouldn’t be so great if it wasn’t for the great animation and I really did feel a sense of wonderment when viewing them as a kid and that same feeling hit me on this play through.

Eat up all that lovely stew!

When I originally played the game it came on nine floppy disks for the Amiga 500. As a result I missed out on the cracking voice over work by Chris Barrie, best know for his role as Arnold Judas Rimmer in the cult show Red Dwarf (Coming back to our screens this Easter on Dave). Made available for the PC version and the CD32 version Chris Barrie adds the sarcasm and wit that is implied in so many of the games lines. The way he reads Simon isn’t too dissimilar to Rimmer and as a result he pulls off a convincing job. I was also delighted when I played it and the Swampling sounds like just as I expected him to. I love that little guy and feel very sorry for him I’m glad he makes it big in the sequel. The great voice over work goes hand in hand with such a witty script…If I ever get the money somehow I would love to do a film adaptation of this, it might be a bit niche but their are so many funny lines that seem ripe for the picking.

As a little footnote I’ve watched a trailer from the most recent Simon game and was gutted to find they’ve turned him into a wise cracking American.

Whilst it may sound like I think this game is perfect it is not without its faults. There are some seemingly meaningless puzzles that are put in just to stretch the game out that big longer. Also the illogical layout of the forest can cause much frustration as you come out at crossroads from locations that are seemingly next to each other yet you can’t get between the two without navigating a frustrating set of crossroads. You soon get used to it, but its an annoyance that could have been avoided.

Now on to the sequel at some point, which I have to admit is nowhere near as good from what I remember but who knows, in the mean time do yourself a favour and pick up Simon the Sorceror.

9/10

Check back for more from our Half Term Gaming Bonanza, next up Lost; The Videogame, oh dear!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment